#XenophobicSA: It’s Time to Tackle the Root Causes of Hate on Migrants

Standard

Just a few months ago, a couple of my South African friends expressed utmost disappointment with the direction they felt their country is heading. I can’t imagine how they feel at this time that their country is making headlines for the wrong reasons.
During my stay in the United States, I came to understand some of the issues my brother Michael Boampong has been pushing over the years. He’s an expert on Migration. He later got me to play some roles in the preparation of the 2013 UN Report on Migration.

People migrate to seek for better education or better life. Hosts tend to be hostile to migrants because of the feeling that they deny them some of their wealth. The issues largely revolve round the economy with other factors that may differ by location. I’m extremely ashamed and disappointed with the despicable developments in South Africa. I can’t imagine that this scenario will repeat itself. The authorities must ‪#‎EndXenophobia‬ without further delay.

Some friends and I have commenced discussions on possible intervention the African Youth can implement to prevent this kind of reprehensible act in any part of Africa. Leaders at all levels must learn to preach LOVE not HATE. If you are happy that your kinsmen and countrymen are successful in other lands, why then should you be unhappy that your country plays host to successful migrants?

About Laz Ude Eze

A public health physician, health systems consultant and an advocate for good governance, health equity and social justice. Authored the book, "A Companion to Practical Pathology" and founded HAPPYNigeria in 2006. I'm also a Brand Ambassador of Social Good Nigeria. To read my full profile, copy and paste this link on your URL and check it out >> http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=35254652&trk=tab_pro Your feedback on all posts are welcome. Follow me on twitter - @donlaz4u.

Leave a Reply

