#Ebola: WHO Made Huge Mistake, says an International Development Worker who fled Liberia

Standard

As the outbreak of Ebola Virus Disease persists in some West African Countries and the US, Mr Luckmore Jalisi – a development worker in Liberia who was forced to flee the country by the fatal disease narrates his ordeal. He berated the Liberian authorities, WHO and the global community for not responding quick enough until the virus had caused several irreparable damages. Mr Jalisi who is severely traumatized also made suggestions on how to overcome the Ebola challenge. Please read the details in Jalisi’s words;

Jalisi

Mr Luckmore Jalisi

“I need some psycho social help, events of the past few months especially the last 6 days have been traumatizing. Seeing dead bodies hasn’t been easy. I have had, almost 6 sleepless nights. I was even scared of my own bed, scared of my spoon, my folk or my cup or even phone. Every time I hear an ambulance sound, my guess was always correct. I could not hungry anymore. Traveling from one country to another. At the same time I feel like I am a coward, I spent a year working in Liberia made friends, some who have died in this crisis. The fact that I could get evacuated and my local friends and local workmates remain there traumatize me. Of course there are those Liberians who hold American passports, they are leaving in drives. What about the poor women, youth and children I worked with whose only hope is Liberia? That is really traumatizing- I failed- Its gloomy. There is serious under reporting of medical cases.

I wish I was brave enough like Dr. Lena Fiore Kendricks in The movie ‘Tears of the Sun’ who had many options and could be evacuated but said no, she couldn’t leave the people she had made a part of her life. I feel I am a failure, they have no where to go. That’s my greatest guilt conscience, hospitals remain closed, doctors and nurses are running away because they cant take it anymore. No protective gear is given to them while the politicians wine and dine ( Ellen Johnson, The Nobel Peace Prize Winner and her health minister threw a party last weekend) while doctors have no protective gears. Schools are closed, kids remain without education

I know the WHO is giving hope, but hope is little. They made huge mistake from the beginning by not paying attention to this global health crisis when it started, they only got alarmed after two incidents

1. Patrick Sawyer Traveling to Nigeria infecting folks there. The fear according to me is that the so called urgency we see now only came because of the belief that Nigerian brothers and sisters travel a lot, so the moment Ebola reached Nigeria, it could reach Europe or North America. Behold world was alarmed!!!!

2. After the two brave American fellow aid workers and Spanish nun got infected. Also remember that a Congolese nun was infected but couldn’t get airlifted as did her Spanish colleague- She died in Liberia.

Already thousands had been infected and hundreds (at least those reported) had died. They are not worthless they are important too. First responders-doctors and nurses died, they are my heroes, they up their lives.

The bottom solution to this crisis is governance and systems. years of post conflict aid have not gone towards health systems strengthening. The UN has poured billions since the war ended, so are the donors like USAID, UkAid, EU and AusAid and Scandinavian Countries. Where did this money go?”

About Laz Ude Eze

A public health physician, health systems consultant and an advocate for good governance, health equity and social justice. Authored the book, "A Companion to Practical Pathology" and founded HAPPYNigeria in 2006. I'm also a Brand Ambassador of Social Good Nigeria. To read my full profile, copy and paste this link on your URL and check it out >> http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=35254652&trk=tab_pro Your feedback on all posts are welcome. Follow me on twitter - @donlaz4u.

Leave a Reply

